Opening for October 1, 2014

The reason behind my absence.  My new son.

The reason behind my absence. My new son.

Dear readers,

It’s been a very, very long time, but I’m back!  This is quite the auspicious day for me to return.  Not only is this National Previvor  Day, and the beginning of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but two years ago today, I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer.  I don’t want to focus on my diagnosis, though, I want to celebrate.  Let’s celebrate life.  Let’s celebrate each other.  Let’s educate the world about what it means to be a previvor, a survivor, an individual living in the world of hereditary cancer.

To quickly address my absence (I owe it to all of you, who have supported me from the beginning), I had a baby!  It was a complicated, difficult, scary pregnancy, which is why I struggled to keep up with BRCA World.  After a bit of a rough start, my baby boy is now healthy and strong.  A pregnancy so soon after cancer is ill-advised, to say the least, but I am doing fine. You also may notice our new look.  I’m still tinkering with it, so feel free to let me know what you think in the comments.  I will be adding new posts when I can, though, not daily.  I just don’t have the time.  My goal is to post, at least, one day a week.  I’m getting back into the groove of my former, pre-pregnancy life, so please bear with me.

Today, is a day of hope.  A day to educate and spread more than just “awareness.”  Use today to open your mouths and type your fingers to the bone.  As “aware” as the world is about breast cancer, few know about hereditary cancer.  Even fewer know the term, “previvor.”  Let’s change that.  It’s time for some #RealTalk.  Make your words heard and seen.

It’s nice to be back.

Yours, Shannon

***For the readers familiar with my unabashed love for all Eminem music:  please read this opening with “Guess who’s back (back, back); back again (gain, gain).  Shady’s back (back, back).  Tell a friend (friend, friend).  Guess who’s back; guess who’s back; guess who’s back; guess who’s back…” running on a loop in your head.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

